Tune In ,Turn Up, Sing Out

sold out

Tune In ,Turn Up, Sing Out

5.00 15.00


Tune In, Turn Up, Sing Out is the live recording of the concert of the same name which was presented at Davies Symphony Hall on May 21, 2009 before an awed capacity house of 2,500. Dr. Timothy Seelig conducted the Chorus for this sixties spectacular. The dynamic range of the singers is at full stretch in this recording during moments sublime, serene and supremely beautiful. The audience cheers, laughs, cries and adds to the incredible atmosphere of that special night that leaps from the disc, straight to the heart.

Joan Baez and the Whoa Nellies add their voices to this limited edition CD in ways that re-define the inadequate term “special guests.” Joan’s sing-along rendition of John Lennon’s “Imagine” will raise goose bumps on the arms of those who remember that night as well as those hearing the track for the first time.

When Kathleen asked me to conduct the Chorus for a sixties concert, little did I know it would be one of the most rewarding experiences of my career. The repertoire sounded fun, but as everything fell into place, it turned out to be so much more than that.

I hope that as you listen to the music and relive the live, unedited magic of that incredible evening at Davies Symphony Hall you will feel inspired to continue the quest for social justice begun in those phenomenal years.

I wish to share my deepest, most heartfelt gratitude for the privilege of sharing these moments.

- Dr. Timothy Seelig

Track List

  • Opening Medley (Celebrate / Good Lovin' / Spinning Wheel / 59th Street Bridge Song / I Get Around)
  • Yesterday
  • I Dig Rock and Roll Music
  • California Dreamin'
  • I Call Your Name
  • Aquarius
  • Monday, Monday
  • San Francisco (Be Sure to Wear Some Flowers in Your Hair)
  • Hair
  • Let the Sun Shine
  • Woodstock 40th Anniversary Remarks
  • Summertime
  • Joan Baez Introduction
  • Swingin' with the Saints
  • Reach Out of the Darkness
  • Leaving On a Jet Plane
  • Bridge Over Troubled Water
  • Abraham, Martin and John
  • The Sound of Silence
  • Imagine
  • Turn! Turn! Turn!
  • We Shall Overcome
  • Stonewall 40th Anniversary
  • Remarks
  • Make Your Own Kind of Music / New World Coming

Bonus Tracks:
Middle Child - The Lollipop Guild
Three Old Friends - Vocal Minority

Special Guests:
JOAN BAEZ: Tracks 10, 14, 16

Add To Cart