Festive!: Four Years of Favorites (CD)


Festive!: Four Years of Favorites (CD)

from 10.00


This holiday season, the San Francisco Gay Men’s Chorus is proud to release Festive!: Four Years of Favorites. Nineteen stunning tracks comprise this brand-new album, recorded between 2011-2015 and conducted by Dr. Timothy Seelig, SFGMC’s Artistic Director & Conductor.

Festive! includes many holiday favorites, such as “Carol of the Bells,” “Auld Lang Syne,” “Silent Night,” “Coventry Carol,” “The Little Drummer Boy” and “Ding! Dong! Merrily On High.” “The Rose / Lo How A Rose E’re Blooming” is a breathtaking mashup created by Craig Hella Johnson combining Amanda McBroom’s pop song, famously recorded by Bette Midler for the 1979 film The Rose, and the classic 1609 German carol by Michael Praetorius, performed with three soloists. “O Magnum Mysterium” features world-renowned operatic soprano Melody Moore.

Many tracks from Festive! were recorded live at the War Memorial Opera House, Louise M. Davies Symphony Hall, Masonic Auditorium and Nourse Theater, all located in San Francisco. The recording also features an array of collaborating groups, such as the Friction Quartet and Bay Area Rainbow Symphony (BARS).

Track List

  1. Gloria Fanfare
  2. New Year’s Carol
  3. Holidays Are Here
  4. Carol of the Bells
  5. The Rose / Lo How A Rose E’re Blooming
  6. The Little Drummer Boy
  7. The Ground
  8. Silent Night
  9. Auld Lang Syne
  10. Over The River and Through The Woods
  11. Ding! Dong! Merrily On High
  12. Coventry Carol
  13. Tomorrow Shall Be My Dancing Day
  14. O Magnum Mysterium
  15. Angels In Seven
  16. Seasonal Sounds
  17. Nerli Variations
  18. Still, Still, Still
  19. A Christmas Flourish
Add on a donation?:
Add To Cart


Conducted by Dr. Timothy Seelig Produced by Dr. Timothy Seelig Mixed, mastered and edited by Chris Kohler ℗ © 2015 Golden Gate Performing Arts, Inc. All rights reserved. This album would not be possible without the generous support of Bob Hermann & Dan Joraanstad, Nick Harper and Diane & Bill Harper.